What in the World is Kat Cooking? Week 1 (Greek Week): Skillet Lemon Garlic Shrimp with Lemony Orzo

shrimpandorzo

While the last dish I made (moussaka) was something I was trying to recreate from a food memory, this was something that just popped into my head as something that I imagine a Greek would eat. I was really in the mood for shrimp, and I prepared them in the simplest way I could imagine–sauteed in a skillet with butter, garlic, and lemon juice. And because shrimp is such a light, dainty kind of protein, I felt like I needed a starch to fill all the other corners of my stomach, which is what prompted me to look up some recipes for orzo with lemon juice in it. This, combined with the Greek salad I blogged about yesterday, makes a refreshing but filling summer meal that comes together in 30 minutes.

Skillet Lemon Garlic Shrimp with Lemony Orzo

(Serves 4)

(Orzo recipe adapted from the Food Network Kitchens)

Ingredients:

For the Shrimp:

12 oz. shrimp, peeled and deveined

2 tablespoons butter

1 tablespoon garlic, minced (or however much garlic you feel like adding)

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Salt

Pepper

For the Orzo:

2 cups orzo pasta

5 cups water

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

1 lemon, juiced

Instructions:

In a small saucepan, add orzo, water, olive oil, salt, and paprika. Stir to combine and simmer for 12-15 minutes, or until orzo is tender. Add lemon juice and season to taste.

In a large skillet, heat butter over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for 30 seconds, stirring so not to burn the garlic. Add shrimp and cook, stirring occasionally, until pink and firm to the touch. Add lemon juice, and season to taste. If you have any fresh herbs (like parsley or oregano), feel free to throw them in. Serve over orzo.

Leave a Reply

